So, it actually happened for once. SnipSnip.it was reviewed on Lifehacker… and then the site went from 1,000 visitors-a-day (which is already awesome for Week 1) to 4,200 visitors-a-day… without a penny in advertising.

Twitter is your friend, if people are talking about your startup there

Twitter is your friend, if people are talking about your startup there

Also, as a sign of potentially good fortune, I noticed that the percentage of return visitors from previous days has doubled from 5% to about 10%….
So, what’s the secret to attracting so many people to a site and getting over 500 tweets about your web service, in addition to enough blog posts to fill 10-pages of Google (in several countries)?
I’ve had a LITTLE experience, making a few Facebook games and other web apps (including a 3D video sphere that still isn’t taking off…), and I’ve come to the conclusion that it’s this simple:
Make something that solves a problem for people… And make it simple.. And it APPEARS that people will… it’s weird… just use it.

I know… I had to wrap my brain around this one, too. I did so by creating a Facebook fanpage and an official Twitter account for SnipSnip, which I think is an appropriate move for most start-ups if you want to keep in touch with your user-base (not cold-calling them with @ replies!!!)

Thank you, SnipSnip visitors and snippers! I’m glad you’re finding the service useful! I can’t wait to see what happens next!

