These are my opinions and in no way reflect the views or opinions of my employer (myself). I do not a have a split personality, and I hate when entrepreneurs add ridiculous disclaimers like these to their blogs. I’d add reference links, but that’d be in bad taste.

Recently, I was talking with some friends at a co-working space who are developing a strategy around attracting more developers to the space. It’s not a simple task, but here are some of my opinions on how to get the job done… and again these views do not reflect the views of my employer.

  • Workshops on node.js, Ruby for PHP developers, augmented reality for iPhone & Android, and MongoDB
  • Panel discussions with developers from leading tech companies like Google, Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Pinterest, Etsy, Kickstarter, and Foursquare
  • 3D printers and Arduino interactive shows and open houses like this one
  • Developer-designer matchmaking events where developers provide free app development work for the graphic designers in exchange for graphic design help for their apps
  • Shoot professionally produced webisodes about developers-designers-biz dev relationships in the work environment
  • Have some kind of flying robotics that stream live video back to a command center and can be ariel manuveured via a RESTful API… then host a hackathon based on using the API.
  • Host job fairs for developers and designers featuring top tech company presence (this can be easily accomplished by contacting your nearest tech talent recruitment firm… they have contacts in the HR departments of many of the major tech companies.)
  • Host regular investor pitch sessions, specifically targeted towards app developers and NOT people who can’t code who need developers
